Clubbing In Tokyo

I have to say that I’ve had my fair share of clubbing experiences in Japan to warrant a post just on this topic.

  • La Sudada

(April 17) A friend and I decided to go to a Salsa club in Roppongi called La Sudada (me being an avid Salsa-lover and all). La Sudada was ¥1000 ($10) to get in that included 1 free drink (which I gave to my friend as I had just started to feel the affects of a cold I caught earlier in the week). The club was very small and even though we went to the club late on a Friday night, there weren’t that many people there. Apparently, it is better to go on Saturday nights after around 1AM. Finding the club was a little difficult because it is in a building with another very exclusive club. It’s easy to walk past the large black door that leads to the salsa club but if you ask the attendant of the other club they will tell you where to go.

After leaving the salsa club, my friend and I decided to try a different club since we had already missed the last train home (the last train ends between 12:30AM and 1:30AM, depending on where you live). We could have went to Feria, which was only down the street from La Sudada, but it was about ¥2000 cover charge ($20). It’s supposed to be one of the best clubs in Tokyo but we didn’t want to pay that price.

Instead, my friend and I went to V2, which was only a short 10 minute walk down the main street from La Sudada.

  • V2

That same night (^), ladies got in free. The club wasn’t too bad but the atmosphere didn’t allow much dancing so that killed the night. The DJ would play one or two good songs but would then remix it with house or electronic type of songs that make the crowd jump up and down.

Finally, we caught the 1st morning train (5AM) back to our dorm and crashed. When we left the club, it was still dark, but as we left the train station, the morning sun fully greeted us.

  • Lex

Lex, located in Roppongi, holds a soft-spot in my heart as it always offers the best night out. The club-goers are friendly (consisting of Japanese and foreigners), the music can sometimes be a hit or miss but you find yourself on the dance floor anyway, and there too you get a free drink ticket. Some of my funniest memories were at Lex so it’s definitely a place I would go back to if I were ever in Japan again.

  • Gaspanic

Gaspanic is more club than bar with many of the patrons just sitting at tables and drinking. The club workers are constantly checking the club floors for God-knows-what, and that kind of ruins the flow of any potential dancing. The Gaspanic in Roppongi has a stage in front of the dj booth that a few drunk people like to go up and dance on but my experience with Gaspanic was purely a last resort or to kill time before an event or the morning train. The Gaspanic in Shibuya is always packed with foreigners and Japanese citizens alike, playing a variety of electronic, rap, and even oldie rock songs. The particular time I went was the clubs anniversary night so the club owner was there as well and the club workers were doing bar tricks like setting the bar on fire (O.O).

  • Harlem

Harlem is a hip-hop club that sees mostly Japanese party-goes who are interested in the hip-hop scene and, of course, the foreigner who are into that scene as well. Located in Shibuya, anyone trying to find it kind of has to walk through the alleyway of love hotels to get there (making the walk there interesting as well). It was an interesting experience and I definitely wanted to go back before I left Japan but was unable to do so. The only downside is that people would smoke and throw there cigarette buds on the ground.

Other clubs that I went to don’t warrant a mention, but I have to say that my favorite was Lex. Other famous clubs that I would also try if I were ever in Japan again would be Womb and Ageha.

Leave a Reply

