Settling into Fukui

As evidenced by my lack of posting, settling into Fukui has been busy, previously plagued with a lack of reliable home internet (le sigh), and full of impromptu adventures. Fukui City is a small city that can be described as more of a large town as the feeling you get when living here is just that.

Thanks to my supervisor, I was able to set up a cellphone and internet bundle that became fully operational in September—not having internet was like not having a life for me–the struggle.

Japan-August-summer had been short of hot as hell, especially when you have no mode of transportation and you have to walk everyday. First world problems, right? Despite the heat and lack of central air conditioning, the views that I got–and still get–everyday were a mash-up between beautiful mountains and rice fields, and small city-town.

September, October, and November were filled with weekend traveling and a sharp change from really hot to surprisingly really cold. But, I took the steps to get a car way before the weather really changed (due to Fukui-winter horror stories and travel convenience), so I was saved from trudging through snow up to my knees.

At school, winter break flew by, and I realized that I had spent the same amount of months in Fukui that I spent in Tokyo two years ago, but this time, I’m staying for a longer haul. I was excited to see all that wintery-Japan had to offer, and 紅葉-Fukui was a beautiful Segway into wet snow, runny noses, and flu outbreaks.

January up to now has passed in a blur, and with Golden Week coming up, I hope to slow down and update the blog with the various amount of things that I’ve done in my blogging absence. That’s right! I didn’t hibernate between now and my last blog post! I’ve visited many places (Kyoto), and even took my first international trip as a resident of Japan (Taiwan), so I’m excited to get pen-to-paper and write about those experiences.

Check out the ‘gram and you’ll see all the views that I see everyday.

*紅葉 (kouyou): Fall Leaves

4 thoughts on “Settling into Fukui

  1. how do you find travelling around the more rural parts of japan? Do you speak any japanese or can you kinda get by? I’d like to do a trip to Japan when i finish my expat journey, but would rather try to get a bit out there instead of the usual tokyo, kyoto, osaka, thing.

    Like

    1. I think it’s definitely easier to travel around rural areas with a car because many buses end early and don’t come often, but it’s not as hard as one would think. Many expats take bike journeys instead of using public transportation. I speak Japanese, but even the expats I know who don’t speak Japanese get by just fine without it, and many prefectures in Japan are becoming more English-friendly, even places in the countryside.

      I would say, visiting the countryside can be a great adventure as life tends to be slightly slower and people are more likely to come and make conversation with you (even in limited to no English) because you are foreign. In saying that, it may be easier to find things to do in more touristy cities than in the rural countryside; however, there is surprisingly a lot of information about the most remote places and things to do there.

      The countryside has a lot to offer, so good luck on planning your trip!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

